The formal first-floor rooms and the four guest accomodations above allow guests fabulous views over the sweeping lawns and Kennebec River.Adjoining the main house is the ‘Ship’s Carpenters’ Quarters’ (added in 1870 as lodging quarters for shipbuilder Charles Minott’s shipwrights) which houses three more second-floor guest accommodations and the first-floor Woodshed room with its own private verandah – perfect for romantic getaways and honeymooners.
The 1774 Innkeepers Share Their Home and Hospitality
Sharing the lovely 1774 house with their lodging guests is the essence of this new enterprise for Innkeepers John and Jackie. The English couple was beguiled and seduced by the outstanding waterside setting of the 1774 Inn Bed and Breakfast. They have transformed the interior using traditional furniture and fabrics in a contemporary style whilst maintaining the original architectural features of the house.
“For us, it’s about sharing our home, our time and our hospitality – and doing all we can to give our guests the best possible experience in this amazing part of New England.”
John and Jackie
The Grounds Outside
the 1774 Inn in Phippsburg
James McCobb himself would have stood outside this house, marveling at the hillside setting and the breathtaking views. There are so many sights to appreciate: the spire of the nearby 1802 Phippsburg Congregational Church, floodlit at night; the pine trees swaying in the breeze; the ever-changing tides and eddies of the fast-flowing Kennebec (which takes its name from the Abenaki Indians and means “long quiet waters”); the lazy seals basking on the near-shore islands; the abundant flora and fauna; and – if you’re lucky – a bald eagle soaring overhead or an osprey diving for fish. The 1774 Bed and Breakfast Inn is the perfect place to relax, gather with family and friends,unwind and simply enjoy the wonders of Nature.
The History of the 1774 Inn: The McCobb-Hill-Minott House
Listed in the National Register of Historic Places as the McCobb-Hill-Minott House after its first three owners, the Inn was constructed between 1773 and 1774 by builder Isaac Packard as lodging for theprominent local businessman James McCobb. Mark Langdon Hill, the son of McCobb’s third wife and Maine’s first US Congressman, lived in the house from 1782 until his death in 1842. In 1854, the home was purchased by Charles Minott, who was to become one of Maine’s first and best-known shipbuilders. The remains of Minott’s shipyard can still be seen near the Church at low tide.
Many Original Details
Remain Visible in this Outstanding
Today the main house is recognized as “an outstanding example of a pre-revolutionary mansion, exceptionally well-detailed and finely proportioned”, according to the 1962 Historical American Building Survey. Most of these original details are still evident in the general construction; window shutters and window seats; wood floors and paneling; grand open fireplaces; and the fascinating ‘witch’s door’ with its Roman and Greek crosses to ward off evil spirits!
“Perfect! Exceeded our expectations in every way. We’ll be sure to tell our friends. Thanks!” Godsoe, New York, NY
Morning has broken on the Historic Kennebec River…